Between 1820 and 1830, Daniel Boone Hays, grandson of pioneer Daniel Boone, built a house atop a hill in what now is Matson Hill Park. Visitors enter the site at 3572 Stub Road, off Hwy. F.
The home, which was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1973, has remained closed to the public until now. Located just two miles from the Historic Daniel Boone Home, the St. Charles County Parks & Recreation Department has opened the home for self-guided tours on Saturdays from 10 a.m.-4:30 p.m. and Sundays from noon-4:30 p.m., with free admission.
The stone dwelling features a new interpretive center with artifacts and displays that showcase the Hays and Boone families. The main floor houses exhibits, while the top floor features turn-of-the-century furnishings, including smaller artifacts once owned by family heirs.