Home >> Schools >> Scholarship seeks to reward young heroes

Scholarship seeks to reward young heroes

The Gloria Barron Prize for Young Heroes recently announced the launch of its 2021 awards. The online application system opened Jan. 4, 2021. Submissions are due by April 15, with the winners currently scheduled to be announced in September.

Gloria Barron Prize
Click the logo to learn more. (source: barronprize.org)

The Barron Prize celebrates inspiring, public-spirited young people from across the U.S. and Canada. Established in 2001 by author T.A. Barron, the Barron Prize annually honors 25 young leaders ages 8 to 18 who have made a significant positive difference to people and the environment through service projects. Fifteen top winners each receive $10,000 to support their service work or higher education.

Since its inception, the Barron Prize has awarded more than half a million dollars to hundreds of young leaders and has won the support of Girl Scouts of the USA, Jane Goodall’s Roots and Shoots, and Youth Service America, among other organizations.

“Nothing is more inspiring than stories about heroic people who have truly made a difference to the world,” Barron said. “And we need our heroes today more than ever. Not celebrities but true heroes – people whose character can inspire us all. That is the purpose of the Barron Prize: to share positive examples of heroism with as many young people as possible.”

Individuals can learn more and apply online at barronprize.org.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this: