Home >> Schools >> Francis Howell >> Francis Howell teachers awarded for excellence

Francis Howell teachers awarded for excellence

Francis Howell School District teachers and department chairs Kim Linneman and Teresa Swaringim have been selected to receive the 2019 Emerson Excellence in Teaching Award.

The award recognizes teachers for teaching, impact on student learning, knowledge and creativity in the classroom. The recipients are chosen based on their contributions to the profession and to students.

Linneman teaches language arts at Francis Howell High and has worked for the district since 2004. Linneman also has served as the language arts department chair since 2013 and as an instructional leader to an AP teacher cohort. She was also noted for her work as a district equity trainer.

“Beyond the classroom, Ms. Linneman challenged herself in 2018 and 2019 to pilot dignity homerooms for the building,” Principal Dave Wedlock said.

Swaringim began teaching at Francis Howell in 2007. She started her career at Central Elementary working as a paraprofessional before returning to college and completing her student teaching at Francis Howell Central. She joined the certified staff as a classroom teacher in 2014.

Today, Swaringim is a member of the School Leadership Team and was selected as the Central Elementary Teacher of the Year in 2018.

“Mrs. Swaringim is passionate about helping meet the needs of all students, which includes those that come from lower socio-economic backgrounds,” Stacey King, Central Elementary Principal, said. “She volunteers on our Adopt-A-Family task force which provides school supplies, holiday gifts, food, and hygiene items to students in need. She understands the impact of making sure that the basic needs of our kids are met so they can reach their full academic potential.”

The Emerson Excellence in Teaching Awards program annually recognizes more than 100 educators in the St. Louis metropolitan area.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this: