Home >> News >> O’Fallon plans council member election for April 7, 2020

O’Fallon plans council member election for April 7, 2020

A bill [No. 7135] sponsored by O’Fallon Mayor Bill Hennessy would authorize a general municipal election Tuesday, April 7, 2020.

While five council seats are up for election at that time [one from each ward], legislation is required for the city to undertake the election and its related costs.

Council members with expiring terms are Dave Hinman [Ward 1], Rose Mack [Ward 2], Nathan Bibb [Ward 3], Jeff Kuehn [Ward 4] and Mike Pheney [Ward 5]. All terms are three years in length.

The first day to file a “declaration of candidacy” with the city of O’Fallon for the April 2020 election is Tuesday, Dec. 17, from 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Filing will close at 5 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 21, 2020. A filing fee of $25 must accompany each declaration filed with the city clerk.

The city charter includes specific regulations in regard to council members and candidates. City council candidates must be 21 years of age by the date of the election, be a registered voter of the city and have been a resident of the ward for which they have filed for at least one year before the election. City council members shall be elected by the qualified voters of their respective wards. The candidate receiving the highest number of votes shall be elected. City council members shall be elected to serve staggered 3-year terms.

The charter also stipulates that no person shall be elected if they had been convicted of a felony or has pleaded “no contest” in relation to such crime.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this: