Home >> Schools >> Three FHSD schools make National Blue Ribbon list

Three FHSD schools make National Blue Ribbon list

Warren Elementary students celebrate the school’s placement on the 2019 National Blue Ribbon School List [Francis Howell School District photo]

The U.S. Department of Education has recognized Becky-David Elementary, Daniel Boone Elementary and Warren Elementary as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2019. The Francis Howell schools received the prestigious award based on their high academic performance. Only five other elementary schools in Missouri received the award this year.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools award strives to recognize educators, families, and communities who have created safe and welcoming schools.

“We recognize and honor your important work in preparing students for successful careers and meaningful lives,” said U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos in a video message to the honorees. “As a National Blue Ribbon School, your school demonstrates what is possible when committed educators hold all students and staff to high standards and create vibrant, innovative cultures of teaching and learning.”

Now in its 37th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed recognition on 362 schools from across the country for 2019.

On Nov. 14 and 15, the Secretary and the Department of Education will celebrate with the honorees at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this: