Home >> Schools >> Francis Howell >> U.S. Presidential Scholars selected

U.S. Presidential Scholars selected

The U.S. Department of Education announced that three FHSD seniors: Arianna Chaves from Francis Howell North, Stephanie Monson from Francis Howell Central and David Yang from Francis Howell High, have been named candidates in the 2019 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. The candidates were selected from nearly 3.6 million students expected to graduate in 2019.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964 by Executive Order to recognize graduating seniors for accomplishments in academic success, leadership, service to school and community and more.

Up to 161 U.S. Presidential Scholars are chosen annually, and will be invited to Washington, D.C., in June for the National Recognition Program and the presentation of the Presidential Scholars Medallion during a White House-sponsored ceremony.

A panel of educators will review submissions and select 600 semifinalists in April. The Commission on Presidential Scholars, a group of up to 32 eminent citizens appointed by the President, will select the finalists. The U.S. Department of Education will announce the Scholars in May.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this: