Home >> News >> MU Extension Council election enters final days

MU Extension Council election enters final days

The University of Missouri [MU] Extension Council of St. Charles County’s annual council election continues through 4 p.m. on Jan. 29.

Six candidates have filed to fill five positions, all with two-year terms.

The Extension Council provides guidance and leadership to the MU Extension effort in St. Charles County. Members of the council help to determine the educational needs of the county and develop programs to meet those needs.

Candidates include:

• Fay Aubuchon, of St. Peters, who is the associate dean for workforce programs and services for St. Charles Community College. Aubuchon is currently the chairperson for the University of Missouri Extension Council of St. Charles County, working with the Urban Region East for the University of Missouri Extension Council. She holds a master’s of science in human resource management from Lindenwood University and a bachelor’s of science degree in business management from Maryville University.

• Kurt M. Johnson, of Augusta, who says, “After 30 years in [food and agricultural industries in the U.S. and Canada] business, I have worked with Extension personnel on various projects in almost all 50 states and eight provinces.”

• Tom Nagle, of St. Charles, who is an MU Extension certified master gardener and Missouri master naturalist. Additionally, Nagle volunteers with  Forest ReLeaf of Missouri, The Missouri Community Forestry Council and is a member of the Agriculture Advisory Board at St. Charles Community College.

• Kristen Sherry, of O’Fallon, who is the St. Charles City-County Library’s outreach services manager. In that capacity, she frequently speaks to community organizations and has developed and received grant funding support.

• Dr. Julie Turner, of Foristell, who holds a doctorate of philosophy in education from the University of Missouri-St. Louis, a mater’s of arts in adult and continuing education from Michigan State University, and a bachelor’s degree in sociology and religion from Hope College [Holland, Michigan]. Turner recently participated in the MU Extension master gardener certification course.

• Roy Zirges, of Lake Saint Louis, who is secretary of the MU Extension Urban Regional Council, vice chairman of the Foundation Board and treasurer of the Extension Council. Additionally, Zirges serves as chairman of the Lake Saint Louis Parks Department Tree Board.

To vote online or print paper ballots, residents must visit extension.missouri.edu/stcharles. Paper ballots may be mailed or delivered to the Extension Center during business hours, 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. Ballots must be postmarked or delivered by 4:30 p.m. on Tuesday, Jan. 29. Paper ballots must include the voter’s address and telephone number in order for it to be valid. This information may be needed by Extension Council to authenticate ballot information. Paper ballots that are not completed or signed will not be counted.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this: