Home >> News >> Several St. Peters Board of Aldermen incumbents bow out of April election

Several St. Peters Board of Aldermen incumbents bow out of April election

The St. Peters Board of Aldermen will have some new members this year.

The board adopted a resolution at its Jan. 17 meeting establishing a notice for the city’s general municipal election this year on April 2. The offices of aldermen for Wards 1, 2, 3 and the remaining year in an unexpired term ending in 2020 for a Ward 3 alderman, and the city’s municipal judge are up for re-election.

Each of the city’s four wards has two aldermen who each serve four-year terms but their terms are staggered. Mayor Len Pagano is not up for re-election this April.

Filing for candidates ended on Jan. 15 and the candidates are:

• Joyce A. Townsend and Terry Hawkins in Ward 1

• Incumbent Judy Bateman in Ward 2

• Incumbent Terri Violet in Ward 3

• Melissa Renee Reimer, for the one-year, unexpired term in Ward 3

• Nicholas [Nick] Trupiano and David Nelson in Ward 4

• Donald L. Kohl as municipal judge

Reimer, who was appointed at a special board meeting on Sept. 27, replaces Alderman Michael Shea who resigned before the Sept. 13 meeting, citing health reasons. Reimer is seeking to fill out the remaining year of Shea’s term.

Each of the other aldermen elected will serve four-year terms.

David Thomas [Ward 1] and Don Aytes [Ward  4] did not file for re-election.

Thomas has served the St. Peters residents since 2007 and was re-elected to a four-year term in 2015. He has lived in the city since 2000 and serves as the aldermanic representative on the city’s Veterans Memorial Commission.

Aytes served as an alderman in Ward 4 from 1984-2002. He was elected again in 2007 and re-elected in 2015 to a four-year term. He serves as an aldermanic representative on the city’s Outpatient Surgical Treatment Center Medical Review Board.

Kohl has served as a municipal judge since at least 2007.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this: