Home >> News >> Candidates file for St. Charles County offices up for re-election in August primary

Candidates file for St. Charles County offices up for re-election in August primary

As expected, a number of candidates have filed for St. Charles County government offices up for re-election as part the political party primary on Aug. 7.  Other offices didn’t draw much attention.

County Executive

Incumbent County Executive Steve Ehlmann faces no opposition in the Republican primary for another four-year term.  But he may have a Democratic challenger in November.

Lorna L. Frahm of St. Charles, the prosecuting attorney for the city of St. Peters, filed as a Democratic candidate for county executive on the last day of filing on Tuesday, March 27. Frahm was appointed as prosecuting attorney for St. Peters in 2007 by St.  Peters Mayor Len Pagano. She is a 1985 graduate of the University Of Missouri School Of Law. The prosecuting attorney handles enforcement of city ordinances.  She also opened The Frahm Law Firm, LLC in 2001.

Ehlmann has been county executive since 2007 after being elected in November 2006.  He also served as a member of the Missouri House of Representatives from 1989 to 1993, and in the Missouri Senate from 1993 to 2001. He also served as an associate circuit judge from 2001 to 2003 and as a circuit judge in 2003 for the 11th Judicial Circuit.

County Council

A Republican incumbent in the District 1 County Council seat – Joe Cronin of St. Paul – drew two Republican primary opponents, Tony Lavasco and Tom Johnson, both from O’Fallon, and a Democratic challenger, Cheryl Hibbeler who is a former County and O’Fallon councilmember. Hibbeler also is from O’Fallon.

Mike Elam, the incumbent councilmember from District 3 who lives in Dardenne Prairie, has no Republican opposition but faces a challenge from Christine Hedges, a Democrat from St. Charles.

John White, the incumbent Republican councilmember from District 7, also has no Republican opposition in the primary. Paul Woody of St. Charles, however, is the lone Democrat candidate filing for the District 7 post and could face White in the November election.

Incumbent Councilmember Terry Hollander [District 5] faces no Republican or Democratic opposition.

Director of Elections

The office that drew the most attention was director of elections. Incumbent Rich Chrismer is not seeking another four-year term. Six candidates have filed for the office in the Republican August primary – Adam Schwadron of St. Charles, Catherine Rouse of O’Fallon, Kurt Bahr of St. Charles, Mark A. Koester of St. Peters, Michael [Mike] E. Carter of St. Peters and Arnie C. [AC] Dienoff of O’Fallon.

Bahr is a former state representative from the 102nd District, who served eight years in the state legislature. Carter has been a municipal judge in Wentzville.

Dienoff, a citizen activist who often clashed with Chrismer, withdrew his candidacy on March 27 only to refile it the same day.

John Callahan, of O’Fallon, filed as the only Democratic candidate.

Other races

Republican Mary Dempsey of St. Charles filed for recorder of deeds.  Longtime recorder Barbara Hall did not file for re-election.

Prosecuting Attorney Tim Lohmar, Collector of Revenue Michelle D. McBride, Sheriff Scott A. Lewis and Assessor Scott Shipmen all incumbents and Republicans have all filed for re-election. No Democrats filed for these offices.

Six Republican 11th District associate circuit judges also refiled for office with no Democrat opposition in their primaries. They are Associate Circuit Judge Terry R. Cundiff, Division 6; Erin S. Burlison, Division 8; Elizabeth W. Swann  Division 9; Norman C. Steimel III, Division 10; Philip J. Ohlms, Division 11; and Mathew E.P. Thornhill, Division 12.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this: