Home >> Sports >> Other >> Sports Briefs

Sports Briefs

Prep Softball

It was another strong season on the diamond for the Holt Indians this fall and Holt also had its share of post-season honors. The Indians, had seven players named to the Gateway Athletic Conference Central Division All-Conference team that was recently announced.

Holt also garnered two big individual awards as well.

Player of the Year honors went to both Sydney Hanson and Lexi Jones.

Holt head coach Joel Adam won the conference Coach Of The Year award as well.

Fort Zumwalt North and South also had solid showings on the team with four selections each.

Here is a look at the players named to the team:

Pitchers-First Team, Sydney Hansen, Holt, Senior; Taylor Hendrix, Washington, junior. Second team, Ellie Quathem, Washington, freshman; CeCe Pene, Holt, Senior.

Catchers-First team, Marissa Peak, Holt, freshman,; Amber Stockton, Wentzville Liberty, senior.

Utility player-Frist team, Gabby Evans, Wentzville Liberty, junior; Keighlan Cronin, Fort Zumwalt East, junior; second team, Jordan Milam, Holt, senior; Kate Benes, Wentzville Liberty, sophomore.

Infielders-Hannah Karl, Fort Zumwalt South, senior, Mikala Guthrie, Fort Zumwalt North, junior; Abby Behlmann, Wentzville Liberty, sophomore; Paige Wilcox, Fort Zumwalt South, senior; Second team, Julia Vedvig, Fort Zumwalt North, junior.; Emily Albers, Wentzville Liberty, sophomore; Madison Kettler, Holt, junior; Taylor Bell, Holt, sophomore; Jenna Quinones, Fort Zumwalt South, senior.

Outfielders-First team, Sarah Langdon, Fort Zumwalt North, senior; Abby Tiemann, Fort Zumwalt South, senior; Allison Chernich, Fort Zumwalt East, junior; Nicole Brinker, Washington, junior. Second team-Abby Sesti, Wentzville Liberty, senior, Rachel Smith, Holt, junior, Bailee Zemianek, Holt, junior, Rachel Pudlowski, Fort Zumwalt North, senior.

The Sportmanship Award was given to Fort Zumwalt East, Fort Zumwalt North, Fort Zumwalt South, Holt, Wentzville Liberty, and Washington.

All Academic team honors were won by Forth East, Fort Zumwalt North, Fort Zumwalt South, Holt, Wentzville Liberty, and Washington.

Prep Volleyball

The 2016 season brought several historic firsts for the Francis Howell volleyball team. The Vikings, who finished their season second in the Class 4 tournament to eventual champion Lafayette set a school record in wins going 36-3-2. Howell also also made it the state championship match for the first time in school history.

Plenty of post-season honors have come the Vikings way including a solid presence on the Gateway Athletic Conference South All Conference team that was released recently.

Howell had four first teams selections to the team and two second team selections named to the squad.

Here are the following players named to the All-GAC South team:

First team-Mikayla Hardy, Francis Howell; Kennedy Cordia, Francis Howell; Alexis Brugere, Francis Howell; Emma Witter, Francis Howell; Emiley Cross, Troy Buchanan;Amelia Flynn, Wentzville Timberland; Emily Rehagen, Wentzville Timberland.

Second team-Kate Dockhoff, Francis Howell North; Taylor Litteken, Francis Howell; Makenzie Thoman, Francis Howell; Olivia Lotz, Wentzville Timberland; Bailey Wood, Fort Zumwalt West; Rachel Emery, Francis Howell Central; Natalie Green, Francis Howell Central.

Sportmanship Award-Fort Zumwalt West, Lauren Smith; Francis Howell, Gail Nichols; Francis Howell Central, Ma’ria Pruitt-Martin; Francis Howell North, Sara Zimmerman; Troy Buchanan-Sydnie Edwards; Wentzville Timberland, Allie Penny.

Academic Award-Fort Zumwalt West-Hannah Hilke, Emily Lane, Stephanie Uhlebrock, Annalis Harry, Bailet Wood, Lauren Smith, Skyler Boyle, Taylor Reinsch, Taylor Linville, Abby McGuire, Molly Wade.

Francis Howell-Mikayla Hardy, Emma Witter, Lydia Frederick, Kennedy Cordia, Kristen Farrah, Karlie Kinsey, Rachel Patterson, Makenzie Thoman, Alexis Brugere, Gail Nichols, Pavandeep Kaur.

Francis Howell Central-Kayle Steinmeyer, Hannah Goestenkohrs, Mar’ria Pruitt-Martin, Kara Fihe. Rachel Emery, Alex Diffley, Natalie Green, Emily Ziegler.

Francis Howell North-Sarah Zummerman, Hannah Zimmerman, Kira Ward, Elise Stuetz, Rebecca Purcell, Courtney Haislip, Kate Doerhoff, Caty Arnold, Sam Alexander.

Troy Buchanan-Paige Carroll, Emily Crider, Emiley Cross, Kailista Dunlap, Sydnie Edwards, Kamryn Mennemeyer, Krista Orf, Allyson Richerkessing, Tori Rosemann.

Wentzville Timberland-Julia Burke, Kendall Enyart, Amelia Flynn, Savannah Hayton, Kiley Hunt, Olivia Lotz, Caroline Neal, Allie Penny, Emilie Rehagen, Hannah Walker.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this: