Home >> Schools >> Fort Zumwalt >> Bulletin Board: Duchesne sweeps music competition

Bulletin Board: Duchesne sweeps music competition

Senior class members of Duchesne’s music programs display its first-place Orlandofest trophies.

Senior class members of Duchesne’s music programs display its first-place Orlandofest trophies.

Duchesne sweeps music competition

Duchesne High students swept the competition at Orlandofest, where they competed with students from Florida, Georgia, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and South Carolina.

Forty-four Duchesne students competed in four different categories and took first place in Chamber Choir, Concert Choir, Concert Band and Jazz Band.

Participating students included Adam Armbruster, Stephen Baker, Payton Bodden, Michael Brennan, Sophie Capra, Joey Ciaramitaro, Henry Clark, Madeline Clemens, Chandie Colclasure, Chloe Colclasure, Kyle Compton, Brigid Cooper, Tony Deluvia, John DiFatta, Katie Goeke, Cody Going, Mary Gould, Donnie Hargate, Drew Hollandsworth, Allison Huff, Brianna King, David Kinnison, Alex Kleitz, Matt Klekar, Danny Lampkin, Rebecca Linck, Sabby Macedo, Erin Hannigan McKee, Emily McMillin, Peter Michalak, Renate Mueller, Gabe Murphy, Ashley Norviel, Gloria Owen, Abby Rothweiler, Kevin Sallwasser, Tim Sallwasser, James Schneider, John Schneider, Mary Stenger, Jonathan Stoecker, Jack Stremlau, Sophie Tollefson and Dominic Walton.

Duchesne’s Music Department is led by Kay Johnson, who joined the faculty in 2008 and became the school’s director of performing arts in 2013.

Howell of Fame recipients announced

The Francis Howell School District announced the recipients of its 2016 Howell of Fame awards. Recognized for their outstanding achievements, this year’s recipients are Brenda Albers, teacher, Castlio Elementary; Bill Fankhauser, volunteer, Special Olympics; Dana Fehr, teacher, Castlio Elementary; Dawn Hesse, program coordinator, Alternative Learning Department; Merrill Koenig, para educator, Francis Howell Middle; Mark Malaway, teacher, Francis Howell High; Vicki Readenour, teacher, Becky-David Elementary; Jamie Schonhoff, occupational therapist, Independence Elementary; Kevin Supple, chief financial officer, Finance Department

Kiwanis Earl Collins scholarship winners 

Gene Bartley, secretary of the Kiwanis Earl Collins Foundation, recently announced the winners of this year’s $1,000 scholarships.

The scholarships result from the fundraising efforts of Kiwanis Clubs throughout the Missouri-Arkansas District. One scholarship is awarded for each of the 26 Kiwanis MO-ARK divisions. Graduating seniors apply for the scholarships through their local Kiwanis club.

The Kiwanis Club of O’Fallon submitted the names of applicants to the Kiwanis Division for decision by the judges. Recipients are honor students who have participated in community activities and meet financial need criteria.

Benjamin Joel Kramer from Fort Zumwalt North High was the winner from Division 6.

“Members of the Kiwanis Club of O’Fallon started contacting the guidance counselors from the schools in the O’Fallon area early in December to give high school seniors an opportunity to apply for this scholarship,” Kiwanis President Martha Radginski said. “We are extremely excited that Benjamin Joel Kramer was selected from our division.”

The Kiwanis Club of O’Fallon meets monthly at J.J.’s Restaurant in O’Fallon. Members of the club work with students through programs such as its Key Clubs and Builder’s Clubs to encourage leadership and giving back to the local community.

Francis Howell teacher earns Boeing grant

The importance of technology is growing and school districts are pursuing ways to make sure that students get the best opportunities to succeed. So Francis Howell High teacher Lane Walker wrote a grant application to procure the necessary materials to better prepare students.

Boeing approved the grant, worth more than $11,000, giving the classroom 32 Chromebooks, mics/headsets, a charging cart and the licenses associated with the programs.

With the help of the grant, online assessment can be performed to provide immediate feedback to students. Online assessment tools efficiently highlight issues that can be remedied on an individual basis. The materials acquired through the grant also are expected to improve accountability. Interaction between Chromebooks and Smartboards helps teachers to monitor students’ activity to make sure students remain focused as they research data to understand and solve problems.

Francis Howell elects new chief human resources officer 

Lisa Simpkins

Lisa Simpkins

The Francis Howell school district has selected Lisa Simpkins as its new chief human resources officer, effective July 1.

Simpkins replaces Dr. Steve Griggs, who will retire in June after 28 years in education.
Simpkins has worked in the human resources department in Francis Howell since 2013, serving as director of human resources. Before coming to the district, she was the director of support personnel for the Fort Zumwalt School District.

Simpkins earned her bachelor of science degree from University of Missouri-St. Louis and a master of science in human resources management from Lindenwood University. She is a member of the Society of Human Resources Management and accomplished her certification as a Senior Certified Professional in 2015.

Francis Howell selects chief academic officer

Nicole Whitesell

Nicole Whitesell

The Francis Howell School District has selected Nicole Whitesell as its new chief academic officer, effective July 1. Whitesell replaced Dr. Mary Hendricks-Harris, who will assume the role of Francis Howell superintendent in the new school year

In her new role as chief academic officer, Whitesell will guide instructional improvement and student achievement, as well as oversee professional development, special programs and student support services.
Whitesell holds a bachelor of science in secondary math education from the University of Missouri and a master of arts in educational administration and education specialist degree from Lindenwood University.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this: