Home >> News >> Ballots set for April municipal elections

Ballots set for April municipal elections

Ballots set for April municipal elections

Only one of two mayor races this April will be contested among municipalities in the middle and western portions of St. Charles County. Filing by candidates in the April 5 city election closed on Jan. 19.

In St. Peters, State Rep. Ron Hicks [R-MO] will face longtime Mayor Len Pagano for that seat. Hicks, 43, a Republican representing the 107th District, filed his candidacy on Jan. 5 for the mayor’s office. The office has a four-year term.

Hicks has served in the Missouri House since 2013. His district includes parts of O’Fallon, Lake Saint Louis, St. Peters and Wentzville. He works in his family’s Kentucky Fried Chicken and Yum franchises. His candidacy marks the first time that Pagano has faced competition since 2008.

Pagano, 71, is seeking a third four-year term and was first elected mayor in 2007 after serving 24 years as a Ward 3 alderman. Pagano ran unopposed in 2008 and 2012. He also ran in earlier unsuccessful races for mayor and county assessor. He is a retired St. Louis warehouse coordinator with Unilever Corp.

In Dardenne Prairie, voters will elect a mayor to fill out the remaining year of the four-year term of former mayor Pam Fogarty, who resigned in May. Current Mayor David Zucker is unopposed.

Zucker was a Ward 1 alderman and president of the board when Fogarty resigned. He was appointed by the board to serve until the April election. City voters will elect a new mayor to a four-year term in April 2017.

In addition to those mayor races, aldermen and city council seats in O’Fallon, St. Peters, Cottleville, Dardenne Prairie and Lake Saint Louis are up for re-election.

In St. Peters, all four alderman up for re-election face no opposing candidates. Aldermen Rocky Reitmeyer [Ward 1], Jerry Hollingsworth [Ward 2], Michael Shea [Ward 3] and Patrick Barclay [Ward 4] are the incumbents.

Three aldermanic seats in Lake Saint Louis are up for re-election, with one contested seat. Alderman Gary Torlina [Ward 1] faces opposition from Eric Oman. Incumbents Karen Vennard [Ward 2] and Jason Law [Ward 3] are unopposed. Aldermen serve two-year terms.

Dardenne Prairie residents also will elect three aldermen to the city’s six-member board. The candidates filing include David Wandling [Ward 1]; Alderman Doug Santos [Ward 2], who is opposed by Brad Turvey; and Alderman Dan Koch [Ward 3]. Stipes was appointed to the board in June to fill out the remaining months of Zucker’s term. Santos and Koch were elected to the board in 2014.

Cottleville residents will elect two aldermen from two wards. Longtime incumbent Alderman Donald Bucheit [Ward 2], who was elected in 1987, faces opposition from Eric Larson. Alderman Marie Mannino [Ward 1] is unopposed.

In O’Fallon Ward 1, incumbent Rick Lukas squares off against Bill Gardner and Arnie Dienoff. In Ward 2, incumbent Jim Pepper, Tom “Duke” Herweck and Earl Nuesse are running. Marlon Williams and incumbent Richard “Rick” Battelle vie for the Ward 3 seat. The Ward 4 incumbent Jeff Schwentker is running against Greg Fisher and Wade J. Forbush. Rounding out the city’s busy ballot is the Ward 5 race, which pits David Maritz and Kelly Sego against incumbent Debbie Cook.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this: