Home >> Schools >> Fort Zumwalt >> Bulletin Board: Local band revisits roots at Francis Howell

Bulletin Board: Local band revisits roots at Francis Howell


Local band revisits roots at Francis Howell 

Products of Francis Howell Central High, Logan Mohler, and Jordan and Logan Slone, are the names behind the band Clockwork. Recently, the aspiring musicians made time to share some musical wisdom with students in the school district that nurtured and encouraged them.

During the band’s latest tour, which included playing at St. Louis’ Soldier’s Memorial on June 6, the members of Clockwork made a stop at Henderson and Warren elementary schools to entertain and inspire current students.

Formed in 2011, Clockwork specializes in acoustic rock and has toured the Midwest and shared the stage with Blues Traveler, Flaming Lips and with St. Louis native Chuck Berry.
The band was well-received in its Francis Howell School District homecoming and its members said they would be happy to return to entertain students in the future.


South High stands out at FBLA Conference

The Fort Zumwalt South High chapter of Future Business Leaders of America wrapped up the 2014-2015 school year in Chicago at the National Leadership Conference.

Eight members and graduating seniors qualified to compete in conference-related activities at the end of June. Students participating included Alex Bojdak, Scott Hornung, Seth Jones, Cameron Leahy, Jean-Claire Perini, Noah Prince, Ryan Smith and Drake Walters. For its efforts, the South High chapter earned the Outstanding Chapter Award and the Hollis and Kitty Guy Gold Seal Chapter Award of Merit.

Two teams competed in the LifeSmarts competition. Perini and Hornung finished fourth, while  the team of Bojdak and Smith finished 15th. Perini also earned first place in the individual test on Consumer Rights, and Bojdak earned third place in the individual test on Personal Finance. In addition, Perini and Walters were recognized for obtaining the America Award of the Business Achievement Awards. Leahy finished seventh in the Future Business Leader event.


STEM finds girl power at LEGO Robotics Engineering camp

St. Charles Community College contributed to combating the shortage of women in careers related to science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) by holding a Girl Power: LEGO Robotic Engineering Camp in June for girls ages 11-14.
“With a lack of women currently working in STEM-related fields, this camp gave girls hands-on, real-world problem-solving experience,” said Amy Fitzwilliam, SCC program specialist. “They became very excited to explore STEM careers in the future.”
The girls also learned about careers in science, robotics and engineering.

The camp also inspired girls to use various problem-solving techniques and discover solutions that make robotics technology accessible. Camp-goers also used EV3 Lego Robotic Engineering Kits and created robots using computer programming, simple and complex machine principles, gearing and creativity.

The camp was made possible by funding from Missouri Department of Education and Secondary Education.


SCC to present ‘State Fair’ 

St. Charles Community College’s Center Stage Theatre presents “State Fair” through July 26 in the Donald D. Shook Fine Arts Building theater on the SCC campus.
“State Fair” is a Rodgers and Hammerstein classic that follows the Frake family as they leave behind farm life for three days of adventure at the annual Iowa State Fair. Amidst the parents’ hunt for blue ribbons, the daughter and son find both love and heartbreak, all set to an Academy Award-winning score.

O’Fallon cast members include Nicole Junkel, Cori Nelson, Danny Junkel, Justin Spurgeon, Grace Boyer, Marie Malach, Candice Stine and Lea Eilers. Actors from St. Peters include Doug Erwin, Mackenzie Morris, Harry Pickup, Alyssa Linneman, Nick Deimund and Destiney Wittenauer. Actors from St. Charles include Scott Theis, Nick Elieff, Sean Seifert, Taylor Krieg, Esther Smith, Katie Bettison and Mallory Echelmeyer. Actors from Wentzville include Gage Whitehurst and Riley Grady. Additional cast members include Britteny Henry from Chesterfield, Julie Garey from Cottleville, Elisa Leighton from Hazelwood, Christian Lewis from Paynesville, Lacey Fowler from Foristell, Jan Parker from Harvester and Shae Schiff-Clark from Wildwood.

Tickets are $8 for general admission, $6 for seniors, veterans and students; and free to SCC students with ID. Showtimes are 7:30 p.m. on July 22 and July 23, 8 p.m. on July 24 and July 25,  and 2 p.m. on Sunday, July 26. Tickets can be purchased online at www.stchastickets.com or by calling the box office at (636) 922-8050.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this: