Home >> News >> Lake Saint Louis >> Newly elected officials take their seats in Lake Saint Louis

Newly elected officials take their seats in Lake Saint Louis

(Sue Steininger photo)

Lake Saint Louis Civic Center (Sue Steininger photo)

Lake Saint Louis’ elected officials have been seated and the city’s Board of Aldermen has a new president and member.

Mayor Kathy Schweikert and three aldermen who were elected in the April 7 city election took their oaths of office at the board’s May 4 meeting.

Schweikert was elected to her first four-year term after serving as interim mayor following the death of Mayor Ralph Sidebottom in September 2014. Schweikert, an alderwoman since 2009, was appointed by the board to fill out Sidebottom’s term in September 2014.

The board also will feature several former mayors – Mike Potter, who was elected to a two-year term in April, served as the city’s mayor for three year terms before he was narrowly defeated by Sidebottom in 2013. The board appointed Potter as the interim replacement of Schweikert in Ward 2 until the April election.

Gary Turner, who took his seat as Ward 1 aldermen, was a long-time mayor of St. Peters from 1978 to 1984. Turner succeeds Alderman Tony Zito, who did not seek re-election.

Potter, Turner and incumbent Alderman John Pellerito (Ward 3) were sworn into office. The three were unopposed in the April election.

The board also elected Alderman Karen Vennard (Ward 2) as president of the board. Vennard was nominated by Alderman Jason Law (Ward 3) and Potter was nominated by Pellerito.

Potter asked that his name be withdrawn.

“I really think this ought to be a unanimous decision,” Potter said. The vote was 6-0 in favor of Vennard.

The board president represents the board and mayor at city meetings and often is appointed mayor by the board if the mayor steps down or resigns. Schweikert was president of the board when she was appointed to replace Sidebottom.

Aldermen also were appointed to city committees. Turner will serve as board liaison to the city’s board of adjustment. Vennard will serve on the building appeals board and park board. Law will serve on the development review board. Potter will serve on the tree board and Pellerito will serve on the green environmental advisory committee. The board also selected Alderman Gary Torlina (Ward 1) to serve on the city’s planning and zoning commission.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this: