Home >> News >> Newly minted board member, president take their seats

Newly minted board member, president take their seats

The newest member of the St. Peters Board of Aldermen has taken his seat and the board has a new president.

Alderman Michael Shea (Ward 3) along with incumbent aldermen David Thomas (Ward 1), Judy Bateman (Ward 2), Terri Violet (Ward 3) and Donald Aytes (Ward 4) and longtime Municipal Judge Donald Kohl each took their oath of office at the April 23 board meeting. The board incumbents and Kohl were re-elected.

Shea won a two-candidate race, defeating Teresa McWhorter, for the unexpired term of Tommy Roberts, who resigned as a Ward 3 alderman in November. Roberts resigned citing family reasons, saying he and his family were moving to Webster Groves.

Taking his seat, Shea thanked his supporters. “We are on our way to fully restoring the faith and trust with our residents,” Shea said.

With a new board came a new board president and new assignments of aldermen who serve as liaisons to the city’s volunteer boards and commissions. Each of the city’s four wards are represented by two aldermen who are elected to four-year terms.

Alderman Jerry Hollingsworth (Ward 2) will serve as president of the board until next April. Hollingsworth has served as an alderman in Ward 2 since 1992.

The board also approved new assignments. Bateman will serve as the board’s representative on the Planning and Zoning Commission; Alderman Patrick Barclay (Ward 4) will serve on the city’s parks, recreation and arts advisory board; and Alderman Terri Violet (Ward 3) will serve on the Veterans Memorial Commission.

Alderman Rocky Reitmeyer (Ward 1) will be the board’s representative on the senior advisory committee. Shea will serve on the St. Peters Green Team, Thomas on the community health and wellness advisory committee, and Aytes on the outpatient surgical treatment center medical review board.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this: