Home >> News >> Candidates begin to file for city government positions

Candidates begin to file for city government positions


Kathy Schweikert being sworn in as Lake Saint Louis’ mayor pro tem in September of 2014.

Lake Saint Louis Mayor Kathy Schweikert has filed her candidacy for mayor in the April 2015 city election.

Schweikert was the only candidate as of Dec. 21 who had filed for the office. Filing for mayor and aldermanic seats in three city wards opened on Dec. 16 and closes on Jan. 20 for the April 7 election.

The candidate elected mayor in April will serve the remaining two years of the late Mayor Ralph Sidebottom’s four year term. Sidebottom died on Sept. 15 after battling pancreatic cancer.

Schweikert, president of the Board of Aldermen was appointed as “mayor pro tem” in September but the city’s Board of Aldermen until the April election. She had served as a Ward 2 alderman since 2009.

Meanwhile, a former mayor has filed for seat on the board. Michael Potter, who has never served as an alderman, was appointed to replace Schweikert in Ward 2 when she was appointed mayor. Potter has filed as a candidate in Ward 2 for a two-year term. Previously, he served as the city’s mayor for 12 years, losing his seat to Sidebottom by 12 votes in April 2013.

Gary Turner is the only other candidate to file during the first week of filing, seeking a Ward 1 seat. The incumbent is Tony Zito. The other incumbent up for election in April is John Pellerito in Ward 3.

• • •

In St. Peters, Mike Shea has filed his candidacy for the Ward 3 seat held by Alderman Tommie Roberts, who resigned in November, serving on the board since 2008.

Roberts resigned citing family reasons saying he and his family were moving to Webster Groves to be closer to his wife’s family, who help with their children.

Shea, came before the board during the public comment portion of the Nov. 13 meeting, and declared his candidacy for Robert’s seat.

The new alderman elected to Robert’s seat will serve the remaining year of his unexpired term.

The city has six aldermen with two elected from each ward to four-year terms. As of Dec. 22, three of those incumbents had filed for new terms. The incumbents are Aldermen David Thomas (Ward 1), Judy Bateman (Ward 2), Terri Violet (Ward 3) and Donald Aytes (Ward 4).

Incumbent St. Peters municipal Judge Donald Kohl also has filed for his municipal judge seat.

• • •

In Dardenne Prairie, incumbent Dave Kampelman has filed to retain his Ward I seat. Kevin Klingerman also has filed as a candidate for the two-year Ward 1 term.

In Ward 2, Robert V. Menichino, incumbent, has filed to retain his seat. Blake Nay also has filed as a candidate for the two-year term.

In order of filing for the Ward 3 seat are Mike Claspille, John Gotway and incumbent Sharon M. West.

• • •

In Weldon Spring, incumbent Donald Licklider has filed as a candidate for mayor while incumbents Gerry Baker (Ward 3) and Janet Kolb (Ward 2) have filed as candidates for their respective seats on the Board of Aldermen.

• • •

O’Fallon has no seats open in the April 2015 election.

• • •

Cottleville has not responded to a request for information related to this story.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this: