Home >> Schools >> Area students commended for academic performance

Area students commended for academic performance

The National Merit Scholarship program is an annual academic competition, which identifies seniors who represent the top of their graduating class. Commended students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the competition by taking the preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship qualifying test.

More than 34,000 of the approximately 50,000 high scorers on the PSAT/NMSQT receive letters of commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise. Although Commended students do not continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships, some of these students do become candidates for special scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses.

Local students who received commendation and their schools are: Daanyal Baber of Parkway Central High; Amanda Crawford, Durgaprasad Kullakanda, Rebecca Levin, Anne Morgan and Gianna Sparks of Parkway North High; Dillon J. Fabrizio of Parkway South High; Katelyn Eickmann, Elise Kammeyer and Ashley Timme of Parkway West High; Olivia Albers. Megan Dart, Brian Flannery, Karuna Gausper. Ian Greenwood, Megan Hardie. Heather Kellenberger, Jordan Lundquist, Smrithi Mani; Jihane Oufattole; Kambria Rapp. Kyle Rasmussen and Amber Wollam of Lafayette High; Jack Barnes, Alexander King, Aadithya Palaniappan, Daphne Wang, Joseph Zamberlan and Michael Zott of Marquette High; Isabel Crane, Brianna Marsh, Blake Ruprecht and James Schuchard of Eureka High; Emily Davenport, Andrew Greenwald. Caitlyn Kieschnick and Courtney Stover of Rockwood Summit High; and Jack Rawlins and Felix Cramer of The Fulton School at St. Albans.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this: